Is Hard Seltzer Gluten Free?

Hard seltzer is becoming increasingly popular, and for a good reason – it’s a delicious, and often lower-calorie alcoholic beverage than many other options! Whether you’re looking for something to enjoy at a party or just want a refreshing drink to relax with after a long day, hard seltzer is definitely worth checking out.

Now that hard seltzers are all the rage, many people are wondering if they’re gluten free. The answer is… it depends! Some hard seltzers contain gluten, while others do not. So, how can you be sure which ones are safe if you have celiac disease or follow a gluten free diet? Keep reading to learn more.

What is Gluten in Alcohol?

Gluten is the general term used for the proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley. These grains are often used in the fermentation process that converts grains into sugar to create alcohol. Gluten is most commonly found in beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages, and bottled wine mixers. 

Do Hard Seltzers Contain Gluten?

Hard seltzers can contain gluten. It all depends on the type of alcohol used to make the beverage. Two popular options are fermented cane sugar, which is gluten-free, and malted barley, which contains gluten. Stewart’s spiked seltzer is made with a premium sugar malt base that is completely and naturally gluten free. 

What are the Best Gluten Free Alcoholic Drinks?

If you have celiac disease or consume a gluten free diet, you’re probably looking for delicious alcoholic beverages that don’t contain gluten. That means you need to stay away from drinks made with wheat, barley, or other grains that contain gluten, like beer and wine coolers. 

Hard alcohol–like pure, distilled liquor–is sometimes made from wheat, barley, or rye, which contain gluten. However, these drinks are often still considered gluten free because they go through a distillation process that removes the allergen from the beverage. Nevertheless, it is essential to look for hidden or added gluten in any alcoholic beverage before consuming it. Sometimes, added flavorings can make a naturally gluten free drink contain gluten. 

Fortunately, nowadays, there are more gluten free alcoholic drink options available—one of the more popular choices being spiked seltzer. In simple terms, spiked seltzer is carbonated water mixed with alcohol and flavoring. However, just like with any alcoholic beverage, it’s important to make sure the hard seltzer you choose is gluten free. 

Stewart’s Spiked Seltzer is 100% Gluten Free

Long gone are the days of having to miss out on delicious alcoholic beverages because all the good stuff contains gluten. If you’re looking for a light, refreshing, tasty gluten free drink, look no further than Stewart’s spiked seltzer. These 100% gluten free beverages come in four bold hard seltzer flavors that we’ve perfected since 1924

Ready to give gluten free hard seltzer a try? Find Stewart’s Seltzer near you so that you can taste one or all of our unique flavors! And be sure to visit the Stewart’s blog to learn more about how spiked seltzer is made and ways to enjoy this delicious drink.